Whole30 Day 4

4 Sep

This picture says it all regarding my Whole30 experience so far…reading labels and then reading more labels just trying to determine if a product is Whole30 compliant. I always was a rule follower, and a planner.

By the way, it really IS surprising what has sugar added to it. Next time you’re in the grocery store with some extra time, take a peek at some labels. Let me know if you, too, are surprised.

In the end, for me, it seems simplest to just eat fresh food whenever possible and to strive for the best quality I can find. I’m fortunate to be living in South Florida where there is a high demand for “best,” so I’m generally able to find it. Here’s what I am eating:

  • Meat   best: grass-fed & pastured
  • Poultry   best: pastured & organic
  • Seafood   best: wild-caught
  • Eggs   best: pastured & organic
  • Vegetables   organic when possible
  • Fruits   not more than 1-2 servings/day and organic when possible
  • Fats   coconut oil, olive oil,  coconut milk, avocados, olives, cashews, macadamia nuts and occasionally almonds and almond butter

The above fats, plus any combination of herbs and spices, can season everything. Of course, I’m also avoiding all grains, dairy, added sugars/sweeteners and alcohol and almost all beans and peas.

I’ve heard from a number of people who are planning to read and watch my experience and results before committing to the Whole30 experiment themselves. I understand completely. I realize, however, you could have difficulty evaluating your own possibilities without knowing more about me and about my food choices pre-Whole30.

Although healthy means different things to different people, I’m sure most of you try to make healthy food choices and I do, too. Pre-Whole30, I ate a low fat diet with 3 meals/day and usually 1 snack. I ate no artificially sweetened foods. I drank lots of water and no sodas. Since I’m super-sensitive to it, I avoided caffeine. I had at least 1 salad/day. I had a large variety of fruits and vegetables. I ate a variety of fish, as well as beef, buffalo, turkey, chicken and occasionally pork. Other than a slice of Ezekiel sprouted grain bread almost daily, I ate very small portions of a variety of grains. I could generally take or leave grains, except in cookies or muffins or pies or cakes…oh dear! I had none of those for the last month or two, though. I ate a variety of beans, but not too often. Almost daily, I had soymilk and Greek yogurt in a smoothie and ate some cheese (mostly raw) later in the day. On weekends, I had a glass of wine at dinner.

From the above, you can see what habits I had in my favor before starting the Whole30 experiment. And you can see what I had to change, too. I had to add more healthy fat to my meals, limit my fruit to 1-2 daily servings and eliminate Ezekiel bread and other grains, beans, soymilk, cheese and wine. The one thing I noticed about these eliminations is that I was getting more sugar in my diet than I realized. Good to know!

I’ve been thinking about why I am doing this Whole30 experiment, and the truth is I’m not sure there is a specific reason other than it just feels right to me. I’m not aware of any health issues or conditions in my life, so I’m not looking for a transformation of that nature. Although any improvements to body composition would be nice, I don’t have weight I need to lose. I just want to be as healthy as I can be; and new knowledge and experience of possibilities for optimal health are always welcome in my life.

How am I doing so far? Well, according to the Whole30 timeline, Days 2-3 are “The Hangover.” This is where we experience headaches, fatigue and general malaise that are directly proportional to the junk we ate just prior to starting the 30 days. If I really looked for it, I could say there was a very slight hint of dizziness and disorientation yesterday on day 3, but that’s all. Hmmm, I’m thinking I’m really glad I didn’t binge on those cookies and muffins I like.

(Photo Credit: whole9life.com)

6 Responses to “Whole30 Day 4”

  1. Karen Artal September 4, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Glad it’s working well for you.

  2. ~jenniferlynn September 8, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    I have the same preface as to why I’m doing it.. just because it feels right. No real weight to lose or major issues to battle, but after reading the site and then ISWF, it’s like a lightbulb went on! There are some things I am looking forward to after this, but I know that I am going to be so conscious of reading labels after that I may just end up sticking to what I know is “safe” lol.
    I went to Costco on the hunt for approved foods, and EVERYTHING has soy. Like literally. Everything. Vitamins, nuts, dried fruits, tuna fish. Soy lechtin, soybean oil. Crazy.
    Sugar, too. Everything with added sugar, brown sugar, corn syrup. It is amazing how much crap they put in “real’ foods, even “natural” foods!

    • Healthy A-Z September 8, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      Sad, isn’t it? I did find some Wild Alaskan Sockeye Salmon (cans) at Costco with ONLY salmon and salt. It’s great for a quick protein addition.

      • ~jenniferlynn September 8, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

        I think the Kirkland Albacore is okay, too. My list there usually includes organic beef (feeding two, so not ready to jump on the full grass-fed beef route just yet), eggs, avocados, berries, and spinach/mixed greens.I may not buy the “Best” options out there, but I think it’s HUGE to cut out all the sugar and added junk.

      • Healthy A-Z September 8, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

        Agreed!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30 Results « Healthy A-Z - October 2, 2012

    […] Whole30 Day 4 […]

Leave a Reply

