Be-YOU-tiful!

12 Mar

Be Your Own Kind of Beautiful_PtJfb

A couple of years ago, I pondered how to integrate two very different parts of my personality.

At times, I considered myself what I would call a Typical Middle American. I was born in the Midwest and raised in South Florida. I grew up with the typical cultural influences – TV, music and newspapers. I went to schools, malls, movies, libraries, restaurants and beaches. Well, you get the idea. I was able to find commonality with lots and lots of people over the years.

I knew I was a little healthier in my orientation, but that was simply a personal preference.

There was another part of me though that was very different. I had an extra sense beyond the typical five senses of sight, hearing, taste, smell and touch.

Maybe this extra sense develops from listening and observing. (I have written about my predisposition to really listen and observe…here and here.) Maybe it is simply an inborn sense. I don’t really know.

What I do know is that I often perceived things about people related to why they were emotionally experiencing life the way they were. It proved to be helpful to a number of them. And helping others was important to me.

Over time, I learned that I couldn’t always share these perceptions. People were often not ready to hear them. Voicing them could sometimes make others incredibly uncomfortable around me.

My Typical Middle American self and that extra sense often didn’t fit well together. Yet these were (and are) really significant parts of me. Although I really wanted to find a way to be my true self and to help others, I had no idea how to do that. So, I set my pondering aside.

Now as I look back, I can see that I stumbled on a way that integrates all of me very well. It feels comfortable to me and to others. And it makes a tangible contribution to others’ lives, which makes me very happy.

Here is what it is. I work with people who are overweight. I help them identify and understand their emotions, as well as healthier ways to live their lives. They come to me because they want my help. They are losing their extra weight, keeping it off and loving their lives. And we’re all excited about that!

You could say that we are learning to be our best selves together and that is

Be-YOU-tiful!

(Photo credit: Path to Joy)

 

25 Responses to “Be-YOU-tiful!”

  1. annesturetucker March 12, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    That is be-you-tiful! :-)Thank you!

  2. appliedalliance March 13, 2013 at 6:53 am #

    Wonderful!

  3. Mary March 13, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Be-You-Tiful to you – great article and message Cyndi!

    • Healthy A-Z March 13, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      Thanks, Mary. I appreciate your kind support!

  4. Strong By Choice March 13, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    I know you were nominated recently yet still…Congratulations! You have been nominated for The Liebster Award!! Swing over to my blog for details! 🙂

    • Healthy A-Z March 13, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      Thank you, Strong By Choice! And congratulations to you!!

      • Strong By Choice March 13, 2013 at 10:57 am #

        Thank you kindly! You deserve it! 🙂

  5. Christy H March 13, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    My bookclub just read “The Middlesteins” by Jami Attenberg and one of the main characters is overweight and her overeating is emotionally based. It’s a ready good book and a pretty quick read. The novel explores how the woman’s condition affects her family dynamics. I recommend it!

    • Healthy A-Z March 13, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      I put it on hold at my library. Sounds like my kind of book. Thanks for the recommendation!

  6. mimigettingfit March 14, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award!! Check out http://mimigettingfit.com/2013/03/14/liebster/
    Thanks for being awesome!

    • Healthy A-Z March 14, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Thank you so much! And congratulations for YOUR nomination!

  7. Alan Freedman March 14, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    Cyndi. I hope this finds you well my dear friend! We haven’t connected in way too long! My apologies for taking this long to reply. There is truly nothing that rises to the importance of serving someone in need – and you get that in spades! The world is all the more rich because of you! Blessings and hugs to you.

    • Healthy A-Z March 15, 2013 at 8:32 am #

      Oh, Alan, you always have the kindest comments. Thank you so much for being a part of this journey! Many hugs…

  8. Don March 15, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    I think it’s wonderful that you have worked with that gift in the way you have, integrating it and being so comfortable with it now. They say what we integrate in ourselves will always benefit others.

    • Healthy A-Z March 15, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      Thank you! “What we integrate in ourselves will always benefit others.”…I didn’t realize this, but it is true from my experience and I’m so glad!

  9. tiny lessons blog March 15, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    Wonderful message! I’m happy you have found a way to integrate your gift and use it to help others!

  10. Karen S. Artal March 18, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    Thanks for the suggestions…..I’ll keep trying!

    • Healthy A-Z March 18, 2013 at 9:27 am #

      Good to hear. We’re all in this together.

  11. Patricia Awapara April 7, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    Hi Cyndi, Inspiring story. It is an amazing feeling to be able to express who you truly are and at the same time do so much good. Great to be back and read some of your posts! 😀

    • Healthy A-Z April 8, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

      Oh, I always love to hear from YOU!! xo

  12. Travel Love Life June 23, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    You are so right! How we expect others to see something in us that we even can’t appreciate? Great post! 😉

    • Healthy A-Z June 23, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      Thank you, Veronika! I’m glad you appreciated my little story.

Leave a Reply

