Are You Ready for the Whole30 Challenge?

9 Aug

Are you wondering whether this Whole30 program could possibly make YOU healthier? Do you experience any of the conditions or diseases in the following list from It Starts with Food?

Each of these conditions and diseases are related to inflammation. Although inflammation is simply the immune system doing its job as it defends against threats and does some general repair and maintenance, problems arise when it becomes overburdened with no rest or recovery. So, what is it that overburdens our immune system? Inadequate sleep, lack of exercise, poor food choices, bugs that are going around and emotional turmoil are all major stressors. Unfortunately, this sounds like a typical day for some of us. Over time, these stressors can take a huge toll on our bodies in the form of one or more of the listed conditions and diseases.

The great news is all of these can be IMPROVED! And most of them can even be REVERSED!

The power to do this is in our hands. We simply need to make better choices of the food we are eating.

(Photo and List Credit: Whole30 and “It Starts with Food,” Dallas & Melissa Hartwig. The crookedness of the list is all me…sorry!)

10 Responses to “Are You Ready for the Whole30 Challenge?”

  1. sambia75 August 9, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    Hi there, I could not agree more with what you said about the cure being in our hands. That is why I started my blog colonrevolution.wordpress.com. As the name says, health starts and ends at our stomach. Looking forward to your next posts.

    Shamsul

  2. GRIT & GLAMOUR August 13, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Have you seen the documentary Food Matters? If not, you should watch it. Eye-opening, and on this very subject!

    • Healthy A-Z August 13, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

      Yes, I have seen it. Wouldn’t it be great if it would be shown on TV during prime time? So many people could really be helped.

  3. Mary August 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Great article. I’m going to consider purchasing the book – I want to understand whole30 better.

    • Healthy A-Z August 14, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      I’m so glad! I hope you enjoy the possibilities. I don’t officially start the whole30 program until 9/1, but I have been assessing which of my current choices are okay/not okay in the interim.

  4. Carolyn B. August 20, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    I’m set to start the whole30 around that time, too! I’m already kind of doing it, but I’m not throwing out any groceries so I’m finishing up beans and cheese and then….it’s on!

    • Healthy A-Z August 20, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      I’m doing the exact same thing right now. We’ll have to compare notes when we get going.

  5. Tammy August 28, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    I’m also starting a Whole30 September 1st! Very exciting!!! Okay, the excitement will probably last until just after lunch on Saturday 😉

    • Healthy A-Z August 28, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      Too funny! We’ll have to inspire and encourage each other then. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30 Results « Healthy A-Z - October 2, 2012

    […] Are You Ready for the Whole30 Challenge? […]

Leave a Reply

