Great Minds Discuss Ideas

17 Oct

Have you walked into a room…and immediately felt:

  • Excited and enthusiastic?
  • Comfortable and at ease?
  • Uneasy and anxious?

What is it that causes those feelings? Is it anticipation? Is it something tangible?

Last week while I was attending a conference, I immediately noticed the atmosphere in the room was uplifting, and I wasn’t sure why. Over the past few days, I have given a lot of thought to the source of that uplifting feeling.

I’ve heard people talk about the “great vibe” of a commercial space or about a person who “puts off bad vibes.” Color psychology says that certain colors feel more energizing (e.g., red accents in a dining room) or more relaxing (e.g., pale greens in a spa). But I think something else, or something more, was taking place at that conference.

These were people who were discussing ideas for improving the lives of others. They were really energized about the possibilities for making a real difference. They weren’t discussing the places they had vacationed, the last movie they had seen or the dinner they had eaten. And I never heard one comment, good or bad, about the current Presidential candidates.

Is it possible that a positive, uplifting feeling can result from great minds discussing ideas…and from simply being in the presence of those discussions?

Are you feeling uplifted or discouraged? What discussions are taking place around you?

Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

17 Responses to “Great Minds Discuss Ideas”

  1. tiny lessons blog October 17, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I believe you’re right in saying it was more than the colors. I think it’s the energy of the people, all or most of them “radiated” positive energy. I’ve thought about this a lot when speaking at conferences and townhalls, you can feel the dominant energy in the room. It’s lovely to be (and speak) in a room where the energy is positive, and not so easy when it’s negative….

  2. Healthy A-Z October 17, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Ahh, thanks for your input! I hadn’t thought about it from the speakers’ prospective. I can see where the energy could be helpful or create difficulties for the speaker trying to go with the flow of the group.

  3. Change My Body...Change My Life October 17, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    I read somewhere that the vast majority of emotional energy we store within is actually absorbed from others. I believe that. Some mornings as i go into work, I feel energized by the staff having coffee before starting their days. Other times, if there are staff who only want to complain about things, I feel rather ill.

    • Healthy A-Z October 17, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Now that’s interesting…and a very good reason to be aware of the company we keep.

      • artisticmilestone October 18, 2012 at 12:27 am #

        Pathetic minds are those that keeps complaining…

  4. teresasdreams October 18, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    I completely agree with you! I have been to similar meetings where every single person there was upbeat and optimistic…excited about what the future holds. Just being around those people made me even more enthusiastic than I already was.

    • Healthy A-Z October 18, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

      And that’s such a great feeling, isn’t it?

  5. caleephotography October 19, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    I agree! Positive energy is contagious. 🙂 –Thanks for the ‘likes’ on my blog.

    • Healthy A-Z October 19, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      “Liking” was easy. I really liked what I saw! 🙂

  6. Jackie L. Robinson October 21, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Absolutely it’s possible! Energy carries a vibration and when we are operating from our pure heartspace, the vibration is high for all who come into it’s contact. The fact that you felt it and become aware of your own response is the beauty of it all. So glad you reached out and connected…much love to you. xo

    • Healthy A-Z October 21, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      Thanks for your input. We’re all teaching, and learning from, each other.I’m looking forward to hearing more of your wisdom on your blog. 😉

  7. exiledprospero October 22, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    i like the Eleanor Roosevelt quote. Passion, when coupled with a subject which interests you, is invariably uplifting (either that or it’s quantum physics at work–we are well aware of the macro world around us, but what about the micro world?).

    Prospero

    • Healthy A-Z October 22, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      Some people are interested in and passionate about negative views, but that doesn’t “feel” the same to me. I believe our elevated thoughts (peace, love, compassion, encouragement) “feel” good and can be contagious. Does that make sense? Maybe that is quantum physics. I don’t know. I don’t have a grasp of it yet.

  8. Mary October 23, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Excellent piece and couldn’t agree with you more, there can be many factors that can take a conversation to a place where people feel engaged and energized. For me the standout factor is when the conversation draws folks into a place allows for positive open dialogue. Sharing w/o feeling threatened. Really enjoyed this post Cyndi.

  9. The Petite Advocate October 25, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    I completely agree. I think the energy that surrounds you has an immediate impact on the environment. The type of people that surround you will completely impact your mood too.

    • Healthy A-Z October 25, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      And that makes it wise to be aware of our choices…activities and companions.

Leave a comment