Whole30 Day 7

7 Sep

I have passed Days 4-5 without wanting to destroy anyone or anything. Thank goodness! And I have passed Day 6 and Day 7, so far, without feeling the need for a nap. I have actually been sleeping well – 8 hours every night.

But, I do feel a bit nauseous and unsettled today. Does that mean a detox is taking place? I don’t know, but I’m willing to have a little yuck to get to the extra healthy part. Now, moving on to some more positive things….

I’m actually enjoying the Whole30 meal planning. It Starts with Food has a great appendix called The Meal Map, where they have Master Recipes. Unfortunately, my unsettled mind can’t figure out a way to describe it to you clearly, but let me just say they have a truly brilliant approach! To me, it’s a bit like mixing and matching possibilities with protein and vegetables and then tossing in the seasonings for the flavor that matches your mood of the moment. Their approach provides plenty of variety, and it’s a great opportunity to be creative.

There’s an unusual recipe I wanted to share with you just because it is so unusual. I was looking through the appendix for alternatives for breakfast, beyond my usual smoothies and eggs, when I came across it:

Morning Mix

ground pork or turkey – diced apple – 1/8 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg

I tried it with ground turkey and a Granny Smith apple. It really is tasty…and easy! If you feel adventurous, try it and let me know what you think.

I have decided there is one thing that has really helped me stay Whole30 compliant (besides my rule-following nature). Rather than thinking about the things I CAN’T have to eat, I have been thinking about things I CAN have, and how I can be creative to combine them appealingly. It takes some effort, but it’s actually a fun challenge!

I hope you are enjoying your meals as much as I am!

(Photo Credit: whole9life.com)

9 Responses to “Whole30 Day 7”

  1. Lauren September 7, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    One of the strangest effects I had on the W30 is that it totally messed with my cycle, like really unexpected start of my period. Sorry for the TMI, but that was my experience!

    • Healthy A-Z September 7, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

      Hmmm, I don’t remember reading anything about that.

    • Change My Body...Change My Life September 8, 2012 at 10:25 am #

      Probably eliminated hormone disrupting substances…OMG I sound like Jillian Michaels.

      • Healthy A-Z September 8, 2012 at 10:29 am #

        A wise Jillian, too! Ha!

  2. ~jenniferlynn September 8, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Keep up the good work, Whole30 buddy!! 🙂

  3. Patricia Awapara September 16, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Detox is always a bit hard, but it seems you are doing great! I will check it out. Although, I drink wheatgrass everyday, I need one like this, urgently! Thanks for sharing. 😀

  4. Sarah S. September 17, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Hey!

    That recipe sounds great. I am definitely going to give it a whirl. I think I need to get that book, I bet it’s great for inspiration. We embarked on this quest with nothing more than the PDF grocery list LOL. Going strong though.

    How are you feeling these days?

    • Healthy A-Z September 17, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      You were brave to start with just the grocery list. ISWF is a great education in addition to the fun appendix with Master recipes. I highly recommend it. And it’s Day 17 for me, and I have been feeling great! Hope you are as well!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30 Results « Healthy A-Z - October 2, 2012

    […] Whole30 Day 7 […]

Leave a Reply

