Home Is Where the Heart Is

24 Apr

My daughter and I decided it was past time for a visit. We hadn’t seen each other since Christmas, and she had moved into a new house I hadn’t yet seen…except in photos…and she had a new, much loved dog.

Steph and Akela1

As seems to be typical for me in recent years, I flew out within a couple of days of deciding to go. Here are some personal Facebook status updates from my trip:

Guess who is going to Los Angeles on Wednesday to visit   (my daughter)  ?

I LOVE spending time with my daughter!!! Here’s a sampling of some of our time together: really yummy almond crusted salmon prepared by her boyfriend; road trip to Fresno to meet one of the nicest families (her boyfriend’s :-)) at a beautiful countryside picnic and at a fine Italian dinner; saw a bobcat!; outstanding dinner at an Indian restaurant; lots of great walks; fun shopping; yummy paleo BBQ pulled pork prepared by her boyfriend; hiking in Griffith Park; afternoon tea… It just doesn’t get any better than this!!!!

Went to work on location with my daughter yesterday. Loved watching her work. She was fast, efficient, organized, fun and the background actors responded well to her. Can’t believe all the details each of the departments manage for our viewing pleasure. The catering was delicious and sitting by the principal actors was fun for me. 🙂 Just another fun day in Los Angeles!

Perfect start to the weekend: Saturday morning Yoga in the Park!!

We may or may not have been here 2 days in a row — with my daughter at Pazzo Gelato.

Las Vegas View from Hotel Room

View from my window. From some amazing synchroncities this week, I am in Las Vegas at a ZeroPoint Global conference. Surrounded by amazing people…and learning really great things.

What happens in Vegas does NOT stay in Vegas, because I’m talking about it…   I bowled for the first time in 45 years. Got 96 and 139! Surprised myself!   Bet you weren’t expecting bowling!! 🙂

Following Las Vegas I returned to Los Angeles to spend one more week with my daughter. And of course, there was one more visit to Pazzo Gelato. (It’s not Whole30 or Paleo, but it is SO worth it!)

And that is where I have been for the past month.

Home IS where the heart is

16 Responses to “Home Is Where the Heart Is”

  1. karenartal April 24, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    I am so happy you got the opportunity to send so much time with Steph….A mother needs that sometimes! Glad you had a good time……Love, Karen

  2. Mary April 24, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    Your daughter is beautiful, she looks so happy! It sounds like you were really treated to special times with lots of great memories – dinner with boyfriends’ parents, hmmmmm?! You are much better at bowling than I, that’s for sure. Wow, the view from your hotel room looks like a painting – gorgeous.

    • Healthy A-Z April 24, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Oh, thank you; Mary! And I was treated to some very special times! Glad you stopped by and shared some of the favorite moments with me.

  3. Strong By Choice April 26, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    Yay for daughter time! I’m glad you had a chance to “let your hair down” at a restaurant and not “Whole 30-ize” the choices. Balance is the key! 🙂

    • Healthy A-Z April 26, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      Yep, and I had FUN!!

      • Strong By Choice April 26, 2013 at 10:13 am #

        Shhh…not so loud…people think we Whole 9ers don’t have fun. 😉

  4. mimigettingfit April 27, 2013 at 6:47 am #

    What a lovely post! Your daughter is beautiful, family time is so important!

    • Healthy A-Z April 27, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      Ahh, Mimi, my heart is full. Thanks so much!

  5. Sunil negi April 27, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    So true…” Home is where the heart is”. I loved your blog

    • Healthy A-Z April 27, 2013 at 8:19 am #

      Thank you, Sunil! I hope you, too, can feel at “home” while you are away from your native country.

  6. Alan Freedman April 28, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Cyndi. I’m so happy to learn of your time with your daughter. It looks and sounds sensational! I go bowling with the Sedona LGBT crowd the third Thurs. of every month. Wanna come? With your score, we’d kick a – s! Always great to connect dear one! Hugs till next time!

    • Healthy A-Z April 29, 2013 at 8:35 am #

      It WAS sensational! If/when I’m in Sedona, I’ll let you know. Bowling was great fun! Back at you with a hug…

  7. Patricia Awapara April 29, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    Your daughter resembles your sweetness, and she is also beautiful. Time with family is priceless. I am glad you had a great time. Congrats on your bowling score. I hardly ever get that high! 😀

    • Healthy A-Z April 29, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

      Thanks, Patricia! I was in Miami last week for the first time in a very long time. I thought of you. 😉

  8. Stacey Ann January 2, 2016 at 2:35 am #

    Your daughter & her furbaby are so photogenic! What a great shot.

Leave a comment