My “DUH!” Moment

13 May

Courage to Be Who You Are_PeacefulMindPeacefulLifefb

After my Glass Walking weekend, I had some interesting insights. One of them was one I had pondered and talked about (in my Are You Who You Really Are? post), but this time I was seeing it from another angle.

Have you ever felt different? Have you ever had difficulty connecting with the people around you? I know I have. And that always caused me to rein in my “Me-ness” and try to be like everyone else. It’s kind of funny really. If you felt that way and I felt that way and we’re all trying to be alike, WHO are we trying to be like? 🙂

Plus…

There’s NO way I will attract people into my life who are truly compatible with me, if I am not 100% being myself.

And that was my Duh! moment.

Like attracts like.

Are you feeling at home with those in your life? If not, are you being who you really are?

(Photo credit: Peaceful Mind Peaceful Life)

18 Responses to “My “DUH!” Moment”

  1. walkwiththerabbi May 13, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Cyndi. This is really quite profound and a great reminder – to me! So often we can act in ways that reflects what we think is the expectation others. I talk about this in “The Walk” and it almost resulted in a divorce – perilously close! Isn’t this just an extension of the facade we portray when we’re dating? Obviously with a 50% divorce rate, it would have been much cheaper to simply be who we really are. I’m going to be fully ME today – thanks to you! Hugs till later.

    • Healthy A-Z May 13, 2013 at 10:58 am #

      Fully YOU sounds perfect! We all need a reminder from time to time. My Yogi tea tag this morning read, “The beauty of life is to experience yourself.” Returning your wonderful hug with gratitude…

  2. dianasschwenk May 13, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    Ha! imagine if all of us are being who we aren’t just to fit in when in truth we may be more alike if we were being who we are! The first and second person who begin to be more true to themselves, by virtue of their very intention, may lead a trend in genuiness making that the new norm. Thanks for sharing aha moment.
    xo

  3. tiny lessons blog May 13, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    Great post Cyndi! I love Oscar Wilde’s “Be yourself; everyone else is already taken”. I have a little bell in my head that immediately jingles if I’m not being completely myself 🙂

    • Healthy A-Z May 13, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

      Thank you! That IS a great quote! If you could replicate and sell that jingling bell, you’d have a winning product! Seriously though, I really respect that greatly. Good for you!

      • tiny lessons blog May 13, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

        It would be great if I could always listen to that “bell”…not always so easy!

  4. leannenalani May 13, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Good point. You know, I was thinking about my friends the other day and how I don’t really have any who are “like” me. It seems like all my friends are the opposite of me. Interesting, huh? So why do I try to be more like them? That doesn’t make sense. In my case it’s like opposites attract.

    • Healthy A-Z May 13, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      That IS interesting. I don’t think there’s a problem though…unless it feels like a problem to you. Sometimes being with those who have different interests and different qualities is a good thing. If you admire those interests and qualities and want more of them in your life, that also seems like a good thing. In my case, I didn’t want to be like those who were around me. 😦

      • leannenalani May 13, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

        It definitely works in my favor. Extroverts balance me out, and I balance out other people with my down to earth-ness. I have been friends with people like me in the past, but it doesn’t always work well putting two quiet and reserved people together I guess.

      • Healthy A-Z May 14, 2013 at 8:15 am #

        The balance you have found sounds perfect!

  5. Sheryl May 13, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    Great insights! It makes sense about being 100% myself.

    • Healthy A-Z May 14, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      I’m glad it resonates with you. Thanks for letting me know that. We’re all in this together…living and learning!

  6. Patricia Awapara May 14, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    Wonderful post Cyndi. And great insight. 😀

    • Healthy A-Z May 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

      Thanks, Patricia! You’re creating such great works yourself! I’m really enjoying your recent beach themed paintings…even though I know nothing about the different materials and mediums. 😉

  7. Summer May 26, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    Insightful post! ‘Duh’ can be a good thing to say in this way : )
    Have a nice day.

    Love and Peace, Summer

    • Healthy A-Z May 26, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      Thank you, Summer! And it WAS a good thing! Sometimes a little change in perception reveals the “new” view.

Leave a comment